The Charlotte Area Association of Black Journalists (CAABJ) is an affiliate chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ), a nonprofit organization focused on establishing strong ties among African-Americans working in the media and expanding and balancing the media's coverage of the African-American community and experience.

December 11, 2007

We're Preparing for a New Year in CAABJ

It's time to plan and prepare for 2008. We have a new board that is ready to keep the momentum going, but first there are some housekeeping issues we need to work out and we would love if you would take part. On Wednesday, December 12th the past and present Executive Board members will meet at WCNC news station, located on 1001 Wood Ridge Center Drive at 7pm. We are also asking members or journalists interested in attending to come. If you are planning to attend please RSVP Melody Taylor via e-mail at We are also asking everyone to bring $5.00 to contribute towards dinner, which will be pizza.

Past & Present Board Members:

Below is a list of the items each of you need to bring to the meeting --

A list of duties you had in your current role as a CAABJ Board member (if applicable)
A list of tasks you wish you had completed in your current role as a CAABJ board member (if applicable)
A list of goals you have for your future board position (I/A)
Ideas for possible 2008 CAABJ events
A list of things you think should have been done by CAABJ
Fundraising ideas for 2008


2008 Membership --
Many of you have e-mailed us saying that you are having trouble submitting your membership application. We are no longer taking membership applications for 2007. We are asking that you wait until January 1st to apply. You can access the form and membership information by logging onto our blog site

2008 Executive Board --
You voted and here they are your 2008 Executive Board members...

President -- Jarvis Holliday ( Charlotte Magazine)

Vice President of Print -- Tiffany Leonard ( Charlotte Observer)

Vice President of Broadcast -- Alva Pearson (WCNC)

Treasurer -- Ken Lemon (WSOC)

*** The President will be responsible for appointing the Secretary and Parliamentarian since no one accepted nominations for either position. If you are interested send us an at

CAABJ Scholarship Event --

CAABJ awarded its first educational scholarship on December 2nd to India Richardson who attends Winthrop University in Rock Hill, SC. Congratulations to India! We know she will go far.

CAABJ also presented its first Most Valuable Member Award. WSOC reporter Ken Lemon took home the award for his dedication to the organization and his willingness to spearhead several of this year's events, including the Race and Education Forum.

CAABJ is on the move and we want you to be a part. So please continue to check our blogsite at look for e-mails from the organization about what we are doing.

We look forward to seeing you Wednesday, December 12th at 7pm at WCNC.